jump to navigation

Shameless Self-Promotion May 27, 2007

Posted by Johan in Academia, Off Topic.
trackback

I guess my readers can pat themselves on the back for having such good taste, as PsyBlog recently opined the following about the Fan Club in a blog review roundup:

Best newcomer
The Phineas Gage Fan Club, named after one of the most famous cases in neuropsychology, is a new blog (to me) written by an undergraduate at the University of York. This clearly written blog focusses on neuroscience and psychology. It’s still grappling with the question of whether to pitch articles at experts or novices. Hopefully it won’t go too far towards the expert. We need inclusive science explanation everyone can understand.

It’s always nice to get some recognition. I’m having fun with this blog, although managing an update every other day is tricky when my assessed work is approaching the deadline.

I’m really impressed with the response to my attempts to make sense of things. Given that nearly every other neuroscience/psychology blogger out there is postgrad or beyond, it’s quite encouraging to see that my humble undergrad efforts are occasionally liked well enough to get linked. This little science corner of the blogosphere is extremely welcoming and friendly to new bloggers, as I’ve certainly experienced.

Ego-boosting aside, blogging also forces me to read all those interesting articles I stumble across. It’s all too easy to glance through the abstract and file it away under Pleasure Reading, when reading does not serve any specific purpose.

Anyway, have a look at the blog roundup – the Fan Club bit aside, it’s well worth a read.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

